Gaberone aerial
Gaberone aerial
Gaberone aerial
  Host  in Botswana

Seabelo Bus routes                   Servas Botswana 

Main towns

Gaborone estimated population 208,411 (1 January 2005), is the capital and largest city of Botswana. Gaborone lies in the flat valley between Kgale and Oodi Hills, on the Notwane River in the south eastern corner of Botswana, and 15 kilometers from the South African border. It is the administrative capital of the South-East district.

Francistown is the second largest city in Botswana, with a population of about 113,315 (urban area - census 2001), and often described as the "Capital of the North". It is located in eastern Botswana, about 400 kilometres north-northeast from the capital, Gaborone. Francistown is located at the confluence of the Tati and Inchwe rivers, and near the Shashe River (tributary to the Limpopo) and 90 kilometres from the international border with Zimbabwe. Francistown was the center of southern Africa's first gold rush, and is still surrounded by old and abandoned mines.

Lobatse is a town in South-Eastern Botswana, 70 kilometres south of the capital Gaborone, pleasantly situated in a range of hills. Lobatse has a population of some 29,700 (Central Statistics Office, 2002) and The High Court of Botswana is situated there. The headquarters of the Department of Geological Surveys is also located in Lobatse. Several industries are located in Lobatse, the most important of which is the Botswana Meat Commission (BMC) and FLO-TEK Pipes and Irrigation, the town's largest private employer.